Enugu Rangers have lifted the 2018 Aiteo Cup after having to equalize two goals deficit in the last twenty minute and going to win it through penalty shootout on wednesday at the stephan keshi stadium in asaba, delta state capital.


Rangers are Aiteo Cup Winners 2018
Rangers Celebrating.

It was a fantastic game of football has the two best so far in the contest Kano Pillars were up against Rangers, Kano Pillars dominated the first half while opening the score-sheet with a two goal lead by half-time through Rabiu Ali and Al-Hassan Ibrahim in the 8th and 19th minutes.

Pillars continued to put the pressure from first half on the flying Antelopes with Nyima Nwagua putting his name on the score-sheet in the 48th minute, they would have added another goal but the centre referee adjudged that the pillars goalscorer was offside before scoring.

Rangers unexpected comeback started when Gbenga Ogunbote their Head Coach made some substitution, He brought on Kelvin Itoya and Ajani Ibrahim while Nana Bonsu replaced ineffective Thomas Femi.

The flying antelopes reduced the goal deficit at the 77th minute through Itoya before Chidera Ezeh netted the second in the 82nd minute to the delight of Rangers fans, Ibrahim another sub brought stadium to a standstill with equalize.The match ended 3-3 at full time.

The kano Pillars ever reliably penalty taker, Rabiu Ali balloned his shot over the bar while Godwin Zaki, Chidera Ezeh, Ifeanyi Goerge and Okey Odita all converted their’s for Rangers while Sai Masu Gida could not convert their effort to goal from 12 yards.

Rangers received the 25M Naira prize money for winning the competition and also ticked to represent Nigeria in the CAF Confederation Cup later in the year.It is their first Aiteo Cup which they last win under another name in 1983.


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word